2023-2024 Endowed Teaching Chairs 

Eight Broward College professors received special recognition for their excellence in the classroom as part of the 2023-2024 Endowed Teaching Chair Awards program. The faculty members were surprised in their classrooms by President Gregory Adam Haile, J.D., and College Provost and Senior Vice President Dr. Jeffery Nasse on Monday, April 17. Faculty were named for the 2023-2024 awards, following a rigorous annual selection process. The winners will receive a one-year grant of $13,500, which includes an $8,500 honorarium and $5,000 for professional development and projects to improve classroom excellence and efficiency.

“I am always in awe of the artistry and mastery of our faculty in the classroom. This year’s Endowed Teaching Chairs, who have a combined contribution of more than 140 years, have invested their passion and care for our students and this community. We are grateful for them and their commitment, innovation, and service.” – President Gregory Adam Haile

The Endowed Teaching Chair awards were launched in 1989 with the goal of providing the opportunity for at least 10 percent of the College’s original faculty to achieve this status in recognition of their outstanding efforts in the classroom. With the support of philanthropic individuals, businesses, foundations, and city organizations, the Broward College Foundation now has 36 Endowed Teaching Chair Awards. To date, 233 Endowed Teaching Chairs have been awarded to 185 different Broward College professors.

“These professors have shown the kind of work and dedication to their students and the College that deserves recognition. From the entire leadership team at Broward College, we send our gratitude and congratulations for being selected for an Endowed Teaching Chair Award.” – Dr. Jeffrey Nasse

Interim Associate Vice President for the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Michelle Levine and Associate Professor Daniel Shears served as co-chairs on the selection committee and Broward College Foundation Board of Directors member Dr. Stanley Marks chaired the Community Endowed Teaching Chair Selection Committee.

The 2023-2024 Endowed Teaching Chair (ETC) recipients are:


Dr. Andrea Apa, associate professor, English for Academic Purposes at the Judson A. Samuels South Campus, received the Bank of America II Endowed Teaching Chair. Dr. Apa has taught at Broward College for 21 years. She has a master’s degree in TESOL from Florida International University and a Ed.D in higher education leadership from NOVA Southeastern University. Dr. Apa shares that teaching English to speakers of other languages has been her joy and passion for over 20 years. She does this all while continuing to inspire a passion for lifelong learning in her students.

Dr. Mirella Baker Bemmel, senior professor, Sociology at the A. Hugh Adams Central Campus, received the Dr. Donald D. and Reba H. Schaffer Endowed Teaching Chair. Dr. Baker Bemmel has taught at Broward College for 21 years. She has a master’s degree in sociology from Florida Atlantic University and a Doctorate in Education with a concentration on Instructional Technology and Distance Education from Nova Southeastern University. In her time at the College, Dr. Baker Bemmel has served as a mentor and liaison to other faculty, participated in numerous committees and school clubs, and organized many service-learning projects.

Dr. Dominique Charlotteaux, senior professor, Education, and Psychology at the Judson A. Samuels South Campus, received the Blockbuster Entertainment Endowed Teaching Chair. Dr. Charlotteaux has been teaching at Broward College for 21 years. She has a master’s degree in foreign language and literature from the University of Rheims (France), a master’s degree in education from Louisiana State University, and a Ph.D. in Multicultural Education from George Mason University. Dr. Charlotteaux notes that at this stage of development in my career, I feel that I am representative of the Broward College faculty who delivers quality instruction to their students and exemplify 21st-century critical educator competencies.


Professor Ryan Davis, associate professor, Business at the Judson A. Samuels South Campus, received the George and Wilma Elmore Endowed Teaching Chair. Professor Davis has taught at Broward College for 11 years. He holds a master’s degree in economics and a Master of Business Administration from Florida Atlantic University. In addition to his courses in Macro- and Microeconomics, and his development of new specializations, courses, and certificates, Professor Davis presents seminars in personal finance, in response to student demand to learn about day-to-day financial literacy.

Professor Kari Hebert, assistant professor, Social Behavioral Sciences and Human Services at the Judson A. Samuels South Campus, received the Bank of America III Endowed Teaching Chair. Professor Herbert has taught at Broward College for 14 years. She has a master’s degree in political science from the University of West Florida and served eight years in the Navy with combined active and reserve service, primarily as an intelligence officer. As a leader in higher education, she strives for Broward College students to directly affect change and improvements in local government policy.

Dr. Billy Jones, associate professor, English at the Judson A. Samuels South Campus and Miramar West Center, received the Jan R. Cummings Endowed Teaching Chair in Critical Thinking. Dr. Jones has a master’s degree in English education from FIU and a Ph.D. in Educational Technology from Barry University. He has taught at Broward for eight years. Dr. Jones truly enjoys the complex task of preparing students for lifelong success. Throughout his years of service, Dr. Jones has incorporated technology, visual literacy, cross-disciplinary activities, and co-curricular engagements with his students to reinforce concepts and topics covered in class.

Dr. Angel Rodriguez, professor, Science at the Judson A. Samuels South Campus and Miramar West Center, received the William D. Horvitz Endowed Teaching Chair. He has taught at Broward College for 25 years. Dr. Rodriguez has a master’s degree in oceanography from the University of California, San Diego, and a Doctor of Education in Higher Education Leadership from the University of Florida. Dr. Rodriguez has authored and contributed to many academic publications all while seeing evident student success in his classes.

Professor Claudia Sahagún, associate professor, Spanish at the A. Hugh Adams Central Campus, received the Wells Fargo Endowed Teaching Chair. Professor Sahagún has worked at Broward College for 26 years. She has a Master of Spanish American Literature degree from the University of Kentucky. As a professor, Sahagún believes that she has a duty to teach not just content, but also about life and the importance of creating community. She also gives frequent presentations on diversity, study abroad, and service learning.

Endowed Teaching Chair Nominations and Selection Process:

The ETC awards are open to active full-time teaching faculty and librarians. Candidates can be nominated by a peer, student or may self-nominate. A selection committee reviews these nominations, and eligible candidates must submit an e-Folio by the published deadlines and guidelines specified by the ETC committee. Following this submission, the semi-finalists are chosen. Semi-finalists give a 20-minute simulated classroom teaching presentation to the ETC committee. Finalists are selected to deliver a second presentation to the community selection committee. After the second and final presentation, winners are chosen by the community selection committee.