On Friday, November 13, 2020, Institutional Events and the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning led a special virtual edition of the Osprey Awards, a time-honored tradition here at Broward College. The annual event recognizes colleagues’ achievements and celebrates the support each member of the College provides to our students, each other, and our community.

Hosted by Associate Vice Presidents Dr. Julia Philyaw and Ellice Martinez, this year’s Ospreys brought attendees over the rainbow into the Land of Ozprey, where we follow Dorian, a student cursed by Elphaba and sent back to the 1960s when Broward College first opened.  Dorian encounters characters representing various areas of Broward College’s student support system. Throughout Dorian’s journey down the yellow brick road, we hear from a handful of leadership team members recognizing years of service, years of giving, and award recipients. By the end, we all learn with Dorian – There’s no place like Broward College!

Congratulations to this years award recipients, and the faculty and staff recognized for 10, 15, 20, and 25+ years of  philanthropic support of scholarships and programs through the Broward College Foundation.

25+ Years of Giving:

Marilyn D. Daniels
Christie L. Heinrich
David M. Judd
Susan J. Grody
Susan M. Greive

20 Years of Giving:

Phillipa L. Vassell
Dan Tan

15 Years of Giving:

Nancy R. O’Donnell-Wilson
Dorothy J. Easley
Wanda Sims
Jose J. Macia
Michael A. Fenick
Judith L. Donigan
Linda A. Wood

10 Years of Giving: 

Oona N. Davis
Stephanie Etter
Natalie Butto
Kimberly A. McCartin
Josefina S. Johnson