The Broward College 34th Golf Classic at the Fort Lauderdale Country Club raised more than $112,000 in support of the Broward College Empowerment Fund.  The Empowerment Fund provides the greatest flexibility for facilitating programming and scholarship support to benefit students, as well as enabling the College to respond to emerging critical needs to support student success.


Winners of the Broward College 34th Golf Classic were:

1st Place

North Course – AARP team: Paul Wilson, Melvin Roane, Alonzo Mourning and Terry Kirby

South Course – Kibler Construction team: Kristofer Kibler, Kris Kibler, Bob Cavanaugh and Larry Kibler

2nd Place

North Course – Barefoot Financial team: Michael Quinlan, Peter Wilson, Matthew DiGennaro, Larry Heydt

South Course – Jack Dillman, Brian Ransdell, Bennett Berhane and Tsegai Berhane

3rd Place

North Course – UDT team: Tony Cossio, Joe Montisinos, Javier Henriques and Richard Sardinos

South Course – AIG team: Nick Brown, David Allen, John Kubs and Paul Tunink

Longest Drive

North Course: Javier Henriques

South Course: Beau Beckett

Closest to the Pin

North Course: Mike Leach, Robert McSweeney

South Course: Ryan Van Portfleet, Tsegai Berhane



A special thank you to the 34th Golf Classic sponsors who made the day possible.

Major sponsors included:  Cigna HealthCare, Fastrack MCI and AVI-SPL.

Other sponsors included: Keith, Farber Specialty Vehicles, CSPi Technology Solutions, The Gehring Group, AARP, The Rhodes Insurance Group, Innovate Audio Visual, Humana, Gulf Building, UDT, Thermal Concepts, Kibler Construction, Pirtle Construction, American National Bank, Barefoot Financial, LeGrand, SGM Engineering, Toshiba Business Solutions, Teresa S. Justice Consulting, State Contracting & Engineering Corp, ANF Group, SHI, Advanced Roofing, Consultis, Transportation Solutions & Lighting, Inc., AIG, Fastenal, Miller Legg, Lego Construction, AIG, Shuck N’ Dive, as well as dozens of individual players. A special thank you also to live auction sponsors Tropic Ocean Airways and Atlantis Paradise Island Resort and to those who donated items for the silent auction.

Golf Classic Chair Lloyd Rhodes, who also serves on the Broward College Foundation Board, led an outstanding committee, including Lorne Cleaver, Elisa Stone, Terri Justice, Jack Paltani, Daniel Riosecco, Deborah Czubkowski, Marla Stenger, Mark Van Dyke and Ken Tate.

A special shoutout goes to Lorne Cleaver of the Broward College Golf Classic committee who was recognized at the event for retiring after 35 years of excellence with Broward College. Lorne has been an integral committee member for many years and remains dedicated to supporting Broward College students through the tournament.